My Thoughts of the Eve of the 4th

Do not read this if you do not want to read some of my views about our country. 🙂

Clarification has been made throughout for those of you who are still puzzled. All new comments are in italics, although some words were already italicized.

As I watched the beautiful explosions in the sky tonight from my driveway, I found myself feeling intensely protective over the ideals that our nation were founded upon.

Today, the 4th of July is a day to barbecue, drink beer, hang out with your friends and watch pretty sparklers in the sky. I believe we as Americans have lost sight of what it actually means.

On July 4, 1776 the Continental Congress approved our Declaration of Indepenance. The first draft was written by Thomas Jefferson in June of that year and the Continental Congress declared us free from Britian on July 2, 1776. This piece of carefully worded writing started the history of our great nation and was signed on August 2, 1776 with Great Britain being notified in November 1776.

The reason we celebrate the 4th instead of one of these other days is because that is the date that was put on the Declaration- when all of the revisions had been done and the Continental Congress felt it was ready to be put into place.

The date of the celebration doesn’t matter so much to me. Not as much as the reason for the celebration.

I am about to dive into politics, so do not read if you are not interested or easily offended.

Recently the Constitution of the United States has been referred to as old, antiquated and it has been inferred that we shouldn’t follow it. Our rights to bare arms should be eventually stripped.  The government now has the power to demand and require the we have healthcare. (Even though our Constitution specifically protects us from the Government forcing purchases on the people.) Our free will, our freedom, in that respect has been taken away. Our Constitutional rights were violated.As I watch the current state of our government, working feverishly to strip us of our Constitutional rights, I am fearful.

Our forefathers left Great Britain to escape tryanical rule, yet we are finding ourselves being held tighter and tighter in the grasp of the government.

I am a Republican. I am part of our great Republic, but most of all- I am an American. I am proud of my right to bear arms. I am proud of my right to worship as I choose. I am proud of my right to love and marry whomever I like. I am proud of my right to choose what is right for my own body. In other words, I am Pro-Choice and Pro- Gay marriage. Just because I am a Republican does not mean I fit perfectly into the box, I vote for what suits my beliefs, not necessarily as a Republican. Will I ever vote for a Democrat President? I can’t say never, but I could not imagine that I would.

We are greatly divided as a nation, even though we all want our freedoms and liberties.

This is an excerpt of the Declaration of Independence. These are not my words, these are the words of our founding fathers. If you have read this far, take a moment to read this, too.

…We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. Prudence, indeed, will dictate that Governments long established should not be changed for light and transient causes; and accordingly all experience hath shewn that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed. But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security. — Such has been the patient sufferance of these Colonies; and such is now the necessity which constrains them to alter their former Systems of Government…

I find myself wondering why our goals are not the same. None of us want our freedoms taken away; yet we as a nation are supporting bills and laws that get closer and closer to doing just that.

As an American citizan I have a Constitutional given right to not only own a gun but to use it to protect myself. If you do not believe in guns, then that is fine- you have the freedom to decide what is best for you. If you do not want freedom of speech, okay, don’t speak freely! If people do not want to live by our Constitution, they they are free to leave the United States and move to another country where the government better suits their needs. Remember- there are plenty of countries that do not allow you the chance to leave. Living here, we have the freedom to make the decisions about what words best for us. I never told anyone to get out. I am just simply pointing out that if you don’t like how our country was founded, you have the right to leave. 

I think that must be the hardest thing for me to wrap my head around with all of this fighting between the parties. If you want to ignore, push aside, or change the Constitution of the United States, you have the rights and the freedom to leave this country. You do not have the right to change the Constitution. When Congress wrote this document, they started with the Bill of Rights. This was to PROTECT US FROM OUR OWN GOVERNMENT.

  • Freedom of religion. Freedom of speech. Freedom of the press. Freedom to peacefully assemble. Right to petition.
  • RIGHT TO KEEP AND BARE ARMS
  • Freedom to deny housing to a solider, whether during peace or war time.
  • Right to privacy (No unreasonable search and seizure)
  • Right to protect yourself from self-incrimination
  • Right to a speedy and public trial
  • Right to a jury trial
  • Excessive bail should not be required, nor should cruel and unusual punishments be inflicted
  • The Constution shall be be construed to deny or disparage others retained by the people (this protects your unwritten rights)
  • The individual states have the rights to make up their own laws, as long as they are not conflicting with the laws outlined in the Consitution.

I know there will be many people who read this that might not agree with my beliefs, that might scoff at my right to keep and use my gun. And that is okay! I am grateful for my right of freedom of speech, and I am also grateful that you have the right to disagree with me. I ask to you to look at our Bill of Rights. If our government takes away one of our rights, there is absolutely nothing to step them from taking away more.

I am not writing this to preach or to convince other people to believe the way I do. That is one of the wonderful things about our country, our freedom to have our own beliefs. I am writing this because I am fearful, truly fearful- of where we are heading as a nation. I am not saying one political party is better than the other. I am just suggesting that it’s time we got back to the roots of what our country was founded on- the Constitution and stop all of the in-fighting. To automatically dislike me and think you know who I am because I am a Republican is incredibly ignorant. Do I agree with Democrat politics? For the most part, no. But you know what? Two of my closest friends are Democrats and we get along just fine. Because we understand, that us being a part of a particular party does not define who we are. They don’t fit perfectly in their party’s box, just like I don’t fit perfectly into mine.

The below comment is what stirred up the controversy and I understand where those of you disagreed were coming from. As I explained to one such person, this entire post was based on a conversation I had recently with the people below. In my mind, it all flowed together as one conversation, one…post. Am I comparing Obama to Hitler? No. Am I belittling the Holocaust…no. Anyone who knows me can answer that question. I am personally saying our government is heading towards the 3rd Reich?? No…I did say that, at any point. Below are the comments there were said to me, in relation to the Government interfering with our Constitutional rights and forcing us to make a purchase, hidden behind a tax. This led to the discussion of what happens next. Do we lose our freedom of religion? Speech? Press? If we disregard one, why not all?

Again, below, these are not MY words. MY concern is what is happening right now, wondering what is next. Do I agree with them? Honestly, I don’t know. I wasn’t in the Holocaust, I was not in the middle of dark time in our history. Will I disregard their thoughts and comments, though? No, I will not. They have a right to their opinions after everything they have lived through, and they would sure as hell no better than I, what it was like then. Again, God I’m a broken record LOL, I am concerned for our Government. I do not believe we are headed for Genocide. I do believe things will begin to get sticky if people in power continue to mess with what has worked for us for…well, since we became a country.

I have been fortunate to have spent a great part of my life around people who are well-educated and with incredible amounts of life experience, with stories to share. Some of these people survived the Holocaust, and some of them were able to escape Germany before Hitler tightened his reign. The mother of my best friend can still describe in great detail what it felt and sounded like as the bombs were dropped in her home town. Another Jewish couple, who lost most of their family, but somehow found one another during this time were recently discussing the state of our nation with myself and a friend of mine. When I asked how they felt about our current state of affairs, with the government tightening their hold on us, they were silent for a moment. After exchanging glances with one another, speaking with looks that only the other knew, the husband replied in his thick accent with watery eyes,”This is how it started in Germany. This is how Hitler took over.”

If you have a question, comment, or a concern, please feel free to comment below. If you are offended by something I have said, please ask me for clarification, because there just might not be a reason to be offended. 😉 Except on our Constitution, that is pretty black and white. LOL In other words…what I believe about our Constitution is pretty back and white.

Comments are closed.