Food for Thought

I find it interesting that I lost one or two of my regular readers because I dared to speak my beliefs out loud. That’s one thing I like about having my own blog, in theory I can say whatever my little heart desires.

I think what I find most baffling is that this/these reader(s) loved this story and always sent me great remarks. Now that I have used my voice to comment on my political stance they view me as offensive. I have actually tried to contact the reader(s) to see if it could be straightened out, but to no avail. I am actually so offensive I am block worthy. Now, that is a first, my friends.

I don’t really know what to say about it. I can hardly apologize for my beliefs, because I am not sorry for them. It’s not like I am member of the KKK and a baby killer. I just happen to lean more to the right than I do the left. *shrugs* If that is enough to make you dislike me to the point you quit reading my writing, I guess that is your decision. Neither my writing, or I, have changed since the first story you read.

Can’t say I understand it, but o’well. *shrugs*

P.S. For those of you asking why I closed comments on that particular post, there are two reasons. One, well, because I can. 🙂 Two, because if you have been keeping up with my blog you will know what has been going in my life the last week, and arguing politics is not something I am willing to do when I needed to focus on keeping my family one piece. 🙂 Thanks for understanding, though.

8 responses to “Food for Thought

  1. Each to his own. Your post was offensive and you aren’t even allowing people to reply to it. I don’t know what kind of response you were expecting.

    • Well, if you have been keeping up with my blog, you know why I closed comments- which happened to be quite some time after I posted it. Besides, I don’t have to let anyone do anything, this is myblog. *shrugs*

      You also can’t just blanket my post as offensive, since you can’t speak for everyone. Per your IP address you are from Toronto and obviously our views are going to be very different.

      I also wasn’t expecting any sort of response one way or the other. I just find the way people think and behave to be very interesting.

      It’s too bad my post offends you, but I have a Constitutional right to my beliefs. You don’t have to come here if you don’t agree. 🙂 It is what it is.

  2. I think you always have to be prepared for people to stop reading your stories if you come out with something opinionated. I’ve lost a lot of readers in my years as a fanfic writer due to my loud ass mouth. You just have to accept that there are people who will be unable to continue to enjoy your work if they don’t like you personally or one of your personal opinions.

    I’m one of those kinds of people. I can fangirl it up for musicians, authors, actors etc. but if they do or say something douchey, I just can’t enjoy their work anymore. Is that right? Sure. It works for me. Do you have to think it’s right? Nope. And that’s okay too. It’s just about accepting that some people operate that way.

    You’ll get different readers who may agree with your opinions, and even some who don’t agree at all and still enjoy your stories in spite of it. So yeah, there’s really nothing to say or do about it. Just say good riddance and focus on writing. It may suck, but it’s life.

    • I know what you are saying, totally. And I also completely agree with you.

      I wouldn’t even say it sucks, I just think it is strange. I don’t really understand the thought process, you know? And that’s what it boils down to, is personal opinions, really. You and I and Sea don’t see eye to eye at all on this stuff, but it doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things whatsoever. I still read and love her work, as I do yours.

      I guess I don’t believe politics define the person, you know? Just because you are affiliated with one side or the other (or none in this case 😉 ) doesn’t mean that I should automatically assume I know you as a person or that you are a bad person.

      I guess more than anything, I find the behavior interesting. On the flip side of it, lol, my story is getting about three times as many hits now as it did before. SMH

  3. People would stop reading your stories just because you presented your political views (which were quite moderate). I’m with you. How bizarre!

  4. I know that I never really leave a review or comment about much, but I had to take the time to say that I am glad that you did not apologize for your beliefs. It is your right to have an opinion. I really just wanted to say good for you and I will still be reading so bring those chapters and blogs on…lol

    • Aww, well thank you! I am glad this is what “brought you out of the closet” so to speak! I have actually started another story that I am thinking will be just a one shot…not sure yet. We’ll see! I hope to “see” you more often!:)

Leave a Reply! Make sure to check the box that says receive replies to this comment! I always write back. :)

