Papa Don’t Preach: 6

Sookie trailed along behind him her eyes wide open. “Umm, Eric?” She picked up her pace glad to be wearing sneakers.

“I’m not going to let him make a fool out of you.” Eric growled as they pushed their way through the crowd to the keg.

“You want me to drive home tonight?” Sookie laughed as she watched him fill his cup.

“Do you mind?” He asked before he chugged his beer.

She shook her head. “Just as long as you don’t get too wasted and do something stupid.”

He was all ready finishing his second cup and he cocked his eyebrow at her. “Like what, Miss Stackhouse?” He pulled her against his body, nuzzling her neck. “Like this?”

“Eric!” She whispered, her hands gripping his biceps. Oh! They were much bigger than she remembered.

“What? You don’t want to make Alcide jealous? Make him realize what an asshole he was to you?” His lips brushed against her forehead as he led her over to the fire. Pulling her against him he wrapped one arm around her and held his beer with the other hand.

“I don’t want him back.” She responded, looking over her shoulder to see his smile.

“I know you don’t.” He took another sip. “But why not have fun?”

She shrugged, not entirely opposed to the idea. “Just don’t take it too far, Eric.”

He gave her his smirk that made girls go crazy. “We’ll see about that.”

Sookie looked around for their friends and found Tara and JB kissing over by the hammock JB had strung up last summer. It was a great spot to see the stars. She caught Amelia’s eye and soon she was walking over with Tray trailing behind her.

“Hey guys!” Amelia grinned, giving Sookie a huge hug. “I didn’t hear from you today. I was worried about you.”

“I know, I’m sorry.” She said apologetically as Eric pulled her back against him again, almost possessively. “I really haven’t felt much like talking and we had Jason’s game tonight.”

Amelia checked out Eric’s arm around Sookie’s body with surprise. “What the hell?” She mouthed at Sookie.

Sookie raised her shoulders slightly and offered a smile. “Protective, I guess.” She said quietly, hoping he didn’t hear.

“Who’s protective?” Tray asked as he handed Eric another beer. “Eric?”

“Yeah, so what?” Eric responded. “This girl is my best friend. I’m not going to let anything happen to her.”

“You’ve always been a great friend to her, Eric.” Amelia agreed, still looking at Sookie with curiosity.

“Damn straight.” He pressed a kiss to the top of her head. “I love my girl.”

“You better slow down on those beers, buddy.” Sookie looked up at him with a laugh. “You might be a giant but drinking them that fast will give you a good buzz. Plus we haven’t ate yet.”

“You think I am drinking too much because I said I love you?” He murmured quietly.

Damn him and his warm breath and sounding all sexy in her ear!

“Not at all.” She batted her eyelashes at him and looked back to Amelia with a smile.

“Come on, man, let’s go help JB get his balls back.” Tray tugged on Eric’s arm, pulling him away from Sookie.

Eric paused with a grin on his face. “I don’t know about you, man, but I have no interest in having anything to do with JB’s balls.”

Sookie and Amelia laughed as Tray grumbled, pulling Eric away with him.

The girls stood shoulder to shoulder by the fire in comfortable silence.

“How are you really, Sookie?” Amelia slung her arm around her best friend’s waist.

“Terrified. Petrified. Horrified and all sorts of other ‘fieds’ I can’t think of right now.” She responded honestly.

Amelia sighed. “I can’t blame you. Are you going to get rid of it?”

“No.” Sookie looked her friends in the eyes. “I can’t do that. I just can’t.”

“Adoption?”

Sookie shrugged. “Maybe? It’s still so new I can’t wrap my head around it.”

“Sook, I know this sucks for you and I can’t imagine how you feel.” Amelia tucked a loose strand of Sookie’s hair back into her ponytail. “But I can’t tell you how glad I am that you are away from that asshole.”

Sookie looked down at the ground, trying not to cry. She dug her shoe into the dirt, dragging it in circles to make a figure eight.

“He was mean to you, Sookie.”

She nodded.

“And I don’t mean ‘mean’ as in he wasn’t all that nice, he treated you like dirt when he thought no one was paying attention.”

“I know.” She whispered, looking across the fire to see Eric and Tray talking to JB by the hammock and Tara walking towards them. She wished Eric was still there.

“Don’t look now, but you have been noticed.” Amelia said in her ear.

“By who?”

“Alcide and his slutty friends.”

Sookie groaned and closed her eyes. “Are they coming over here?”

“No, it doesn’t look like it.”

“Sookie!” Tara grabbed her in a big hug. “Well, it didn’t take long for it to get out.”

“What do you mean?” Sookie asked, her lip trembling. “Did you guys tell someone?”

“Hell no!” Tara responded and Amelia shook her head.

“It must have been Alcide!” She looked back up and glared at him from across the fire.

“Yeah, he’s telling everyone it isn’t his.” Tara added, taking a sip of her beer. “He’s such a jerk.”

“What are you staring at, Stackhouse?” Dawn met her gaze across the fire, her lips curling into a nasty smile.

“I’m not quite sure, Dawn.” She responded in her sweet southern drawl. “I was just asking myself that very question.”

“Shut up, you stupid slut!” Dawn’s friend Ginger chimed in.

Sookie laughed. “You guys are calling me a slut? That’s rich. I haven’t had every member of the football team and baseball team between my legs.”

“You want to come say that to my face?” Dawn pulled away from Tray, her fist clenched at her sides.

“Oh excuse me, but I thought I just did.” Sookie responded calmly.

“You fucking bitch!” Dawn started forward when Ginger grabbed her arm and whispered something in her ear.

Dawn began to laugh hysterically, obviously making a show of it. “Oh, that’s right. I guess I can’t beat up a pregnant chick.”

Sookie lifted her jaw defiantly, determined to not let the older girl get to her. “Who said I was pregnant?”

“Alcide did.” Dawn continued to giggle and hold her sides. The noise of the party had waned and it seemed they were now the focus of attention.

“Who’s is it, huh? We know it’s not Alcide’s.” Ginger asked huffily, crossing her arms over her chest.

Sookie didn’t notice Eric approach from behind her, pulling her back into his embrace protectively. “Shut the fuck up, Ginger. You, too, Dawn. We all know you two have given more rides than the Staten Island Fairy.”

Dawn and Ginger looked at one another in shock and a low round of laughter echoed through the crowd.

“How’s your nose, Northman?” Alcide taunted, tired of watching and not participating.

“It feels just fine, Herveaux. How about your cracked cheekbone?” Eric responded with equal force and Sookie felt him press against her back as he stepped forward a bit.

Alcide chose to ignore the comment and instead asked, “You enjoying my sloppy seconds, dick?”

Sookie felt Eric inhale deeply as his whole body tensed. “There is nothing sloppy about this girl, Alcide. In fact, I was there long before you were, if you were actually ever there. We all know the stories you like to tell, right guys?”

A gasp went through the crowd and Sookie looked up at him in utter shock. Some of the guys roared with laughter, but most were focused on the tension bouncing back and forth between Alcide and Eric.

Alcide stepped forward and Sookie knew exactly what was coming. With this many of their friends there, it would be a bad fight.

“Please, Eric.” She turned around to him and caught his face in her hands. “Please don’t get into another fight. Please.”

“Whose baby is it then? You never answered our question, Sookie.” Dawn taunted while holding onto Alcide’s arm.

“It’s mine.” Eric responded defiantly, holding Sookie tight, daring anyone to contradict him.

A/N: Well, peeps! We were so close to the ten reviews last time, but not close enough for the teaser!  If we make it this time, I will give you a paragraph of what happens next. Aren’t you dying to know? Boy, our Eric has some love for our Sookie, but did he ever put his foot into his mouth!

33 responses to “Papa Don’t Preach: 6

  1. Yes!!! Eric is my favorite hero right about now!! Damn I remember High School, and it was so, so painful. Fuck Alcide! Let Eric step up! Suck on that bitches!!!! I want more, more, more!!! If you do not have a contract with Eric… can I marry him?

    • Nope, we don’t have a marriage contract, but you might have to ask Sookie about that! LOL I am glad you are enjoying the story.

      And yes, high school was a pain in the butt!!

  2. YES! I knew that Eric was going to step up. They love each other. Let them be the little family that Alcide is to much of a punk to take care of. I heard a line once from a movie that said “It isn’t going to bed with someone that makes you a man, it’s getting up and facing the day with them.” Yeah – – Alcide – take that!!!
    Can’t wait for the next chapter. I get to the bottom of each one and go UGH….I want more!!!!!
    Thanks for writing.
    Until next time 🙂

    • Well, if I leave you wanting more, I must be doing something right!! They might have feelings for one another, but Sookie has much bigger problems to deal with right now. It might be awhile before she is ready to go there with him. And that is if he still wants her that way.

      Alicde got put into his place, that’s for sure.

  3. Wow! Eric is more of a man than alcide will ever be. Girls can be so mean. I hope sookie doesn’t freak out x

    • Eric spoke before he thought, thats for sure. 😉 Girls can be terrible but I think our girl held her own. I think Sookie is probably a little bit shocked right now.

  4. I’m not surprised he said that. I have a feeling that he will talk her into telling her parents that as well. Yes, her parents will give them both hell for it, but probably in the long run, will take it better thinking it’s Erics rather than Alcides. I’m not saying he did the right thing since that jerkwad Alcide should have to take part of the responsibility for this actions, but maybe better off in the long run for Eric to say he is the daddy????

    • We’ll have to see! She tells her parents around the 14th chapter or so. I know it seems like a long ways away, but the start of the story will be slow moving (but hopefully still very interesting!), while we set up their relationship with themselves, parents and friends. Once summer comes it will start moving much faster.

  5. WHAT!! GO ERIC!! I wonder what Sookie is going to have to say to that.. Can’t wait for you to update!!

    • Yeah, I was pretty surprised when that came out! I wrote that about a month ago and after he said t I was like o.O. Ooooh boy! And if we hit ten reviews, not including my comments, I will give you the first paragraph of the next chapter. :o)

  6. Whoa, Go Eric!!!! This was a terrific chapter. Alcide is such a pathetic fool and Dawn and Ginger are right there with him. I can’t wait to see if Jason was still at the party and heard everything as well as if Eric will remember what he said or will the alcohol have affected him too much and forget what he said. Excellent chapter!

    • So happy you liked it! Thanks for taking the time to comment, you know how much I appreciate that by now 😉 Eric surprised is all in this update, including Sookie!

  7. I loved it. The way Eric stepped up to defend his girl. Hopefully he won’t regret confronting Dawn and Alcide when he sobers up. I can’t wait to see if Jason has found out too. And will he help defend his sisters honor if a fight does start. Alcide needs to get his butt handed to him for being a pain in Sookie’s life. can’t wait for more. update soon please.

    • Yay! Thanks for your awesome review! Eric is nothing but a good guy, so knowing him, he will have no regrets. My rule of thumb on this blog is if I get 10 reviews on each entry, (not including my own and not counting a person more than once) I will post a teaser for the next chapter. So I know you guys are sitting on quite a cliffie, so hopefully those who read will review, too!

      If not (booo!), I update this story once a week, usually Weds or Thurs. I was late this week because I had a dr appt out of town on Thurs. Anyways- again, thanks and I hope you enjoy the ride! 🙂

  8. Yeah, I had a best friend in High School, who would have done the same thing Eric did. Stake claim to help me out, cause he cared about me. But sadly we took our friendship too far a few years later. And now we haven’t spoke in years. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it’s just dangerous. Love this story. I couldn’t wait on ff update so I hopped over here to find out what was up.

    • It’s great to know someone has your back like that, but sad if it ends poorly. 😦 I am glad you are enjoying the story! Thank you for taking the time to comment on FF and here as well.

      And I am pretty sure that you bumped us up to the 10 reader comments, I have to check to be sure (since mine don’t count) and if so, a teaser will be posted for chapter 7! 🙂

  9. I think it’s a really good story but I think it’s foolish to play this game with the reviews here. Write the next chapter and post it or let it be. I’ts a silly game. If you have the skill to write, do it and here are a lot of people who love to read it but don’t play like this. It’s not worth of you. sry for may english.

    • Umm… there is no “game”. My readers know I don’t post until Thursday or Friday. If they would like a peak at the next chapter then they should leave a review. The next chapter has been written for months. I am actually on chapter 13. If you do not like the way I handle my blog, you are welcome to not read it.

      Not to mention, it’s polite to leave some sort of comment whether good or bad when you read someone’s writing. This chapter has had over 200 reads and about 12 comments. It helps me as a writer to know what people like and do not like about my writing. Within reason of course.

      It also saddens me a bit that you like my writing so much, but the only time you commented was to tell me I am playing a game.

  10. DAMN! I cant believe Eric said that!!! No wait, yes I can becasue Eric is WAY more of a man than Alcide hopes to ever be! I am looking forward to your next chapter to see what happens now!

    • So you approve? I think Sookie was just as surprised as you were! I will be posting chapter 7 today. I just want to read over it really quick, I wrote it about a month ago, and see if there is anything I want to add, etc. Funny comment, my spell check on MS Word tries to change Alcide to Alice each time I type his name. LOL

  11. I knew it! I just knew Eric was going to claim the baby as his. I’m not quite sure if it’s stupid or sweet probably a bit of both. You have a knack for teenage catty dialogue (not that adults are that much better). I loved how Sookie stood up for herself and didn’t back down. Also I noticed in your A/N you wanted 10 reviews a bit later you got your wish well over 30! Go You!! 😉

Leave a Reply! Make sure to check the box that says receive replies to this comment! I always write back. :)

