Papa Don’t Preach: Chapter 8

“Well, he really took me by surprise.” Sookie started, thinking back to when they first started dating.

“Yeah, yeah, he swept you off your feet, blah blah blah, I know that part.”

“No, not that. When he started…not being so nice.”

Eric raised his head up. “He never hit you, did he?”

“Oh no! No, nothing like that at all. It was more verbal, I guess. He was really critical of me. When it first started, it was so subtle I didn’t even realize it was happening.”

“What would he do?”

“Just little things. Like, for instance you know how emotional I can be sometimes.”

He nodded with a smirk. “Yep, you’re a crier.”

“I am. Unfortunately. He hated it.”

“Well, I don’t exactly like it either, Sook. It makes me feel terrible.”

“No, I mean he really hated it. He would say things like ‘Do you have any idea how ugly you look when you cry’ or ‘That’s stupid, knock it off’.”

“I can’t believe he said that kinda crap to you.” Eric stopped rubbing her back for a moment. “He basically called you stupid.”

“Right! Thank you!” She exclaimed. “He did that all the time. He never said I was stupid. He said I was acting stupid, or something I liked was stupid. It was so underhanded. We argued about it all the time but he believed if he didn’t call me stupid it wasn’t the same.”

“That’s a load of shit, Sook. It’s the same thing. He was emotionally abusing you.” Eric’s voice tightened and he rubbed her back a little harder.

“It took me a long time to realize it; I just really tried to be perfect around him, to never give him a reason to say that.” She swallowed a little roughly and she could feel his eyes on her. “You know how Mama and I don’t get along all the time?”

“Yeah…”

“Well, one time Alcide was working on his car. When he was done there was a lot of sweeping to do, so I offered to help. He got mad at me and told me I had no idea how to sweep.” Her voice quivered as she continued. “He told me I was acting lazy and doing a half ass job. Then-then he said ‘No wonder your Mama doesn’t like you’.”

“He fucking said that to you?” Eric growled and turned Sookie over onto her back.

She nodded as the tears ran down her face. Eric pulled her onto his lap and stroked her hair, rocking her back and forth. “Sook, your Mom loves you. She does. You guys are very different.”

She sniffled in response, her face wet against his chest.

“I can’t believe he said things like that to you.” Eric shook his head. “If I hadn’t already kicked his ass I would do it again.”

“Please, Eric,” she whispered, looking up at him, “no matter what I tell you about him, please don’t get into another fight. Please.”

His chest rose with a sigh. “I promise. Is there more?”

She laughed sadly. “That’s probably the tip of the iceberg.”

His grip tightened on her and he leaned them back against the wall.

“I liked to help him when he was re-doing his car. One day he wanted to sandblast the undercarriage to get rid of any rust, and then he was going to paint it. He bought an air compressor and this special mask helmet thing you put over your head. He did it for awhile and it looked kind of fun so I asked him if I could do it.” She chewed on her lip before continuing. “I did it for about an hour. It was really hard work but it was also pretty neat to see the sand take away the rust and make the metal shiny again. I had to stop, because so much sand had fallen on the window of my mask I couldn’t see anymore. When I slid out from under the car and sat up, all of the sand fell into my eyes.”

“Oh, shit, that had to hurt!”

“It did. I cried because it hurt so badly. You know what he did? He laughed and took pictures, because he thought it was so funny. What’s even worse is the same thing happened to him, he just didn’t tell me because he thought he could get a good laugh.”

Eric was finally stunned into silence. He literally had nothing left to say. Instead, he lay down with her, spooning her to his body, wrapping his arm around her and pulling her as close as he could. He kissed her neck and felt her sigh. “Why did you stay with him, Sook?”

“It wasn’t all bad and he said he loved me. I thought I needed to work on being…less stupid.”

He tugged on her until she turned around to face him. “Sookie, you know you aren’t stupid, right? And you know you don’t deserve anything he said or did to you?”

“I know.” She honestly did, but there were times where she blamed herself for letting it go so far.

“You don’t usually take shit from anyone let alone some knucklehead jock. I don’t understand how this happened.” They were lying nose to nose and his hand gently stroked her cheek.

“I think it happened so slowly he just broke me down. Plus, we had sex, so I felt like I should stay with him. He always told me he loved me.”

“When you had sex?” Eric’s voice was low.

“Yeah.”

“Is that the only time?”

“Usually.” She wouldn’t look in his eyes, humiliated as she was.

“Fuck, Sookie.” He murmured. “Fuck.”

“Are you mad at me?” She panicked. She couldn’t stand it if Eric was mad at her.

“No, God no. I hate that son-of-a-bitch.” He closed his eyes and then looked directly into hers. “Sookie, I love you. I can say that to you without any expectations, because that’s what love’s all about. I would do anything for you. You’re a smart, beautiful, funny and all-around great girl. I should’ve told you these things a long time ago and I’m sorry I waited.”

“Eric.” She was shocked by his declaration. Did he mean he love loved her? Or that he loved her like a friend?

“Can I ask you a few things?” Eric hesitated waiting for her answer.

“Anything.”

He focused on their pictures tacked to her bulletin board and finally seemed to work up the courage to continue. “Did you use…protection?”

She avoided his gaze. “Most of the time.”

“Sookie!” He rose up on his elbow, catching her eyes with his.

“I know!” She moaned. “It wasn’t very often…”

“Sook,” Eric sighed, “how did he talk you into it?”

She sat up and they found themselves leaning against the wall again. “I was being dumb, I guess.”

“Come on, you’re not dumb.”

“Do you honestly want to know these things?” She brushed the hairs on his bent knee with her nails.

He squeezed her. “Yes.”

“It happened slowly. I was always really firm about it at first. No condom, no sex.” Sookie sighed, nearly shuddering at the idea of being so intimate with someone who was so cruel. “Then sometimes we would get carried away and start without one, and then stop a little later and put one on.”

“You realize you can get pregnant just from the pre-cum, right?”

She nodded. “I know. Then there were times when he didn’t have a condom at all and I would let him talk me into it, just as long as he, you know…”

“Pulled out?” He whispered for her, sounding almost like his heart was breaking.

“Yes.” The more she opened up to him about her relationship with Alcide, the more she felt like a fool. “It’s my own damn fault.”

Eric hunched over her, cradling her in his arms, brushing her hair from her face. “No, it’s not, Sook. It’s just as much his fault, if not more so.”

“Why?”

He cleared his throat. “Well, because he is older for one thing, and you weren’t his first. He’s had enough sex to know better than that.”

“It felt good.” She said so softly he almost didn’t catch it.

“Sex? Or not using a condom?”

“Both.” She felt ashamed by her answer.

“It’s not worth the risks, Sook.” He tilted her face so he could see her blue eyes, swimming with tears

“I know.” Her chin trembled as she gazed at him, trying to understand all of the emotions in his eyes. “If I could go back and do things over, I would.”

“I’m sorry, Sook.” He pressed a soft kiss to her forehead.

She wiped the tears away. “For what?”

“For everything.” He rested his head against the wall and closed his eyes. He looked angry.

She turned around in his embrace, kneeling between his legs, forcing him to look at her. “Eric, how is any of this your fault?”

“If I hadn’t been such a jerk after homecoming…” He began and she quickly covered his mouth with her hand.

“You weren’t a jerk. You were confused and so was I. None of this is your fault.”

He regarded her quietly, since her hand still rested on his lips. Sighing, he nodded slightly, letting her believe he accepted her claim, even though inside he knew she was wrong.

She sat back on her heels and removed her hand, offering him a half-smile and stroking his hair with her fingers.

“Let’s go to sleep, Sook. You’ve had a really rough couple of days.” He slid down onto his side of the bed.

He sounded tired, so she just nodded. She nestled into his chest and wrapped her arm around his waist, contemplating everything he said to her.

“I love you too, Eric.” She whispered before she drifted off. She felt his body tense and then slowly relax and he placed a kiss on her forehead as she slipped away.

A/N: Thank you so much for all of the amazing comments you guys have made about this story. I am so sorry I wasn’t able to post a teaser or to get this chapter to you sooner. My hand has been extremely painful so it has slowed be down a bit. I promise if we hit ten reviews this time, your teaser will be posted! I even have it all ready to go! 🙂 A special thanks to my girl Jax, who got to beta this twice. 😦 Sorry about that!

I also wanted you to know the things that Alcide said to Sookie, are actually based on a true story. 😦

21 responses to “Papa Don’t Preach: Chapter 8

  1. Well that was an honest conversation and so real. It’s really amazing how easily some girls are lead to do the wrong thing.

    • I think we can all sympathize with poor Sookie, whether we have been there or been in that position. I thought it was important for the readers to understand how Sookie got where she is. 😦 Thank you for taking the time to comment! 🙂

  2. pfft, Alcide is an idiot adolescent.. ‘sex, sex, sex’! ASSHOLE!
    I’m confused about ‘love confessions’.. Was about friends or real love?

    • They aren’t sure about the love confessions either. Sookie has always felt very deeply for Eric, but she doesn’t know how Eric means it when he said he loved her.

  3. I knew that I hated Alcide but this chapter just cements the fact even more! That was some serious emotional abuse he used on Sookie and the part about him not telling her about the danger of getting sand in her eyes could really be classified as physical abuse. I’m sure that wasn’t an easy conversation for either Sookie or Eric to have but I’m glad that it’s out in the open. I hope that Sookie meant she truly loved him too. Fantastic chapter!

  4. great chapter. i had a conversation just like that one . unfortunately boys aren’t the only ones to think with their hormones first as a teen. but best friends are awesome. i can’t wait to read what happens.

  5. Great update. I hope you are feeling better. My friend Confused Bliss had to have surgery, but she is doing great now. I hope you don’t have to have it, but if you do, that is at least one success story.

    • Thank you for your kind words and I am happy you liked this chapter. I am honestly not much better today and am hoping I feel better soon because I need to get more chapters banked, plus my poor muse is crying!

      What kind of surgery did Confused Bliss have? I hope I wind up in the category of success as opposed to the chronic category! 🙂

  6. Wow! Seriously fantastic chapter! I knew alcide was an ass…..but now.. i find him to be SOB!! A huge SOB! Emotional abuse, i think is sometimes worse than physical abuse because those scars are on the inside… and it can take a long long time to heal from those scars. And unfortunately, not everyone can overcome that form of abuse. But i think eric will help sookie through this….in many many ways. (Is it wrong to hope eric confronts him..and hurts him? Lol)

    • Aww, I am so glad you liked it! It gives me warm fuzzies. I think Eric will be able to help Sookie a lot with her scars, but it is going to take a lot for her to let that guard down around her little hurt heart.

      I completely agree with you about emotional abuse. These passive aggressive put downs in this chapter that I shared were actually verbatim the way my last ex spoke to me (except he said no wonder my Dad doesnt like me as opposed to my Mom). It started very slowly after about a year or so, we were living together and before I realized it I was in knee deep in a mess, with children involved. Fortunately, they were his children, not mine, but I loved them as if they were my own and it made it very difficult to let go, even though I knew it wasn’t healthy or right. I finally decided as much as I loved his girls, I had to let them go and set an example for them. If I continued the relationship then it was very likely they would wind up in a similar situation when they got older and I wanted more than that for them. We had a good heart to heart the last night they were here and I was honest with them. They understood and they were also well aware their dad treated me like crap, which is sad. They both said they would never ever date anyone like him, and I hope to God that is true, because it would just kill me. That was the last time I saw them because he decided that even though I had been their mother for three years (their real mom has no involvement and he has them full time), they didn’t need me anymore. He ripped them away from me and me from them, forbidding contact with promises of punishment. I still think about them often. 🙂

      Wow. So didn’t plan on going there, but it felt therapeutic.

  7. Wow reading this totally took me back to my own teenage years and how guillable us girls can be at times. Great job with this chapter.

    • Yep…boys made us pretty stupid, huh? LOL BTW, thank you so much for taking the time to comment on nearly every chapter. That is really thoughtful and so appreciated. 😉

  8. Wow, I know I just commentated on how I could listen to Eric and Sookie talk and talk and talk but this chapter really made me feel like Peeping-Tom sneaking in on an intimate person conversation between two people who were greater than friends. For both of them to be so honest and understanding of each other is wonderful and I like that Eric gave her just enough shit about no condoms, that’s someone who loves you.

    Seriously I need to know about home coming and out of personal curiosity does Eric still have his V-Card (don’t worry I don’t expect you to answer, I only wanted you to know what I’m wondering).

    I really, really like this story!

    • At the rate you are reading you will get to “love Story” soon! You will also find out very shortly about his V card.

      I tried to make the safe sex conversation realistic, something that would happen between teenage friends,

Leave a Reply! Make sure to check the box that says receive replies to this comment! I always write back. :)

